Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

ARTICLE ABOUT JASON BARTON...

Go down

ARTICLE ABOUT JASON BARTON... Empty ARTICLE ABOUT JASON BARTON...

Post  Minister of Information Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:21 am

Jason Barton stepped to the podium to accept his prize as Savannah's top cyclist, which is somewhat miraculous. Less than a month earlier, he was shot in the back while lying on the floor as three men ransacked his apartment.

"They didn't take anything. I didn't have anything," Barton said. "I'm lucky to be here."

He was standing Saturday night in a banquet room at the Doubletree Hotel, where the Nestor Cup cycling series based in Savannah held its annual awards dinner. It was a celebration of the region's best cyclists on the 12-event tour, and it became a celebration of life, Barton's life.

"This is my first time seeing him (since the shooting)," said Christopher Perham, a Savannah cyclist and senior at Georgia Southern. "I think he's doing good. He's a very positive person.

"He'll bounce back."

When other cyclists speak of Barton as a tough competitor, they now have a choice of meanings.

Barton, 31, showed supremacy in endurance races in 2007 by capturing the Nestor Cup's elite "A" series points title. He also ran away with the "A" sprint championship.

Nestor Gernay, the series creator 13 years ago and the president of the Savannah Wheelmen cycling club, personally chooses a few awards such as most improved and most dedicated riders. Gernay honored Barton as the most aggressive rider.

About the only major award Barton was not a part of was the "A" series team title, in which his Wheelmen placed third. Bike Doctor of Hilton Head, S.C., was the team champion.

Barton, in accepting his awards, thanked "the onslaught of support from so many cyclists in the Savannah community." He recounted a few details of the shooting Dec. 28.